Sunday, September 8, 2013

Bretagne / Brittany / Breizh and Berets

Brittany (or Bretagne in French and Breizh in Breton) is a cultural region in the north-west of France. Previously a kingdom and then a duchy, Brittany was united to the Kingdom of France in 1532 as a province. Brittany has also been referred to as Less, Lesser or Little Britain (as opposed to Great Britain). Brittany is considered as one of the six Celtic nations.

South Finistere, Commune of Esquibien, 30th September, 1973
Brittany occupies the northwest peninsula of continental Europe in northwest France. It is bordered by the English Channel to the north, the Celtic Sea and the Atlantic Ocean to the west, and the Bay of Biscay to the south.

Jean Gaumy: Finistere, Ouessant Island.
Although not traditional beret-country (and far away from the Béarn and Basque Country), Bretons have always been known for wearing berets, especially among the seafaring part of the population, large diameter berets (or Tartes).
Mending the Nets, Sardine Fishermen in Brittany
Brittany is seen as the "core area" of megalithic culture. The oldest monuments, cairns, were followed by princely tombs and stone rows. The Morbihan département, on the southern coast, comprises a large share of these structures, including the Carnac stones and the Broken Menhir of Er Grah in Locmariquer, the largest single stone erected by Neolithic man.

Finistere departement, Plouneour-Trez near Brignogan-Plages. 1973
Walter Martha, Old Fishermen, Brittany 

No comments:

Post a Comment